Xa'xtsa Nation

Xa'xtsa (pronounced Hawk-sha) is made up of two communities: Port Douglas, which is situated at the northern end of Little Harrison Lake, and Tipella which is on the west side of the Lillooet River.

Xa'xtsa is also part of the entire St'atl'imx linguistic group.  The name 'Port Douglas' originates from the colonial period, when the town, one of the earliest to be established in mainland British Columbia, was erected adjacent to the present Xa'xtsa community in 1858.

Learn more